USATF announces rosters for IAAF World Cross Country Championships

Default news teaser image

USATF announces rosters for IAAF World Cross Country Championships

INDIANAPOLIS -- 2019 USATF Cross Country champion Shadrack Kipchirchir and 2017 World Championships silver medalist Courtney Frerichs lead Team USATF into the IAAF World Cross Country Championships, set for Sunday, March 30 in Aarhus, Denmark.

On the men’s side, Team USATF is comprised of six of the top seven finishers from this year’s USATF Cross Country Championship held in early February. Rio Olympian Kipchirchir (Colorado Springs, Colorado) will be joined by Olympian and 2018 USATF Cross Country Champion Leonard Korir (Colorado Springs, Colorado), Olympian Hillary Bor (Colorado Springs, Colorado), 2017 World Championships team member Stanley Kebenei (Colorado Springs, Colorado), fourth- and seventh-place finishers at USATF Cross Country Championships Emmanuel Bor (Colorado Springs, Colorado) and Mason Ferlic (Ann Arbor, Michigan).

Frerichs (Mundelein, Illinois), the American record holder in the 3000m Steeplechase, finished sixth at the USATF Cross Country Championships and will be joined by third-place finisher Marielle Hall (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania), three-time NCAA Champion Karissa Schweizer (Urbandale, Iowa), USATF 10K Championships winner Stephanie Bruce (Flagstaff, Arizona) and USATF Cross Country Championships ninth- and 10th place finishers Anne-Marie Blaney (Rochester Hills, Michigan) and Sarah Pagano (Ringwood, New Jersey).

The junior champions from the 2019 USATF Cross Country Championships, Shuaib Aljabaly (Coldwater, Michigan; University of Wisconsin) and Nicole Clermont (Franklin, Massachusetts; Boston College), will suit up for the U.S. in Aarhus, Denmark.

Team USATF looks to improve upon their 2017 finishes at the IAAF World Cross Country Championships. The senior women and men finished fifth overall in the team standings, while the junior men were ninth and the junior women finished 11th.

Follow along with #TeamUSATF and IAAFworlds on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.



Senior Women

Marielle Hall

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Courtney Frerichs

Mundelein, Illinois

Karissa Schweizer

Urbandale, Iowa

Stephanie Bruce

Flagstaff, Arizona

Sarah Pagano

Ringwood, New Jersey

Anne-Marie Blaney

Rochester Hills, Michigan

Senior Men

Shadrack Kipchirchir

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Emmanuel Bor

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Leonard Korir

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Hillary Bor

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Stanley Kebenei

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Mason Ferlic

Ann Arbor, Michigan

Junior Women

Nicole Clermont

Franklin, Massachusetts; Boston College

Kayla Smith

Falls Church, Virginia; Boston College

Riley Rigdon

Bartlesville, Oklahoma; Oklahoma State Univ.

Grace Ping

Winnona, Minnesota

Savannah Shaw

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; North Carolina State Univ.

Heidi Nielson

Katy, Texas; Track Houston Youth TC

Junior Men

Shuaib Aljabaly

Coldwater, Minnesota; Univ. of Wisconsin

Gabriel Mudel

Novi, Minnesota; Univ. of Michigan

Mieka Beaudoin-Rousseau

Stanford, California; Stanford University

Charlie Perry

Stanford, California; Stanford University

Khalid Hussein

Plymouth, Minnesota; Univ. of Minnesota

Robert Cheeseman

Keller, Texas

Mixed Relay

Eleanor Fulton

Lone Tree, Colorado

Shannon Osika

Waterford, Michigan

Jordan Mann

Providence, Rhode Island

Kirubel Erassa

Grayson, Georgia

Team Staff



Melody Fairchild

Senior Women’s Coach

Steve Plasencia

Senior Men’s Coach

Katie McGregor

Junior Women’s Coach

Dave Smith

Junior Men’s Coach

Scott Hudson

Head ATC

Anne Marie Letko


Back to News