Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Voting now open for 2019 USATF Jesse Owens, Jackie Joyner-Kersee and Wing Awards


INDIANAPOLIS -- Voting is now open for fans and media to help USATF select 2019's best U.S. athletes and performances with the Jesse Owens, Jackie Joyner-Kersee and Wing Awards. USATF will present all awards at the 2019 Night of Legends on Saturday, December 7, as part of the Annual Meeting in Reno, Nevada. The event will also include the National Track & Field Hall of Fame, Class of 2019, induction ceremony. 

Fans can vote for their favorites via an online form, also found on Instagram and Facebook, now thru Wednesday, November 6 at 4:59 p.m. ET.


The Jesse Owens Award and Jackie Joyner-Kersee Award are USATF's highest accolades, presented annually since 1981 to the most outstanding U.S. male and female athletes. Winners are selected by a vote of the media in combination with online fan balloting, with media votes weighing 90 percent of the vote and fan voting 10 percent. Click here for a list of previous winners.


Selected directly by fans, the Wing Awards honor a variety of top performances, including Best World Championships Performance for Track as well as Field, and Best World Championships Rookie Performance. Nominated athletes include Rai Benjamin, Joe Kovacs, Brittany Brown, Grant Holloway, and more.


Tickets for Night of Legends and Annual Meeting registration may be purchased online.


2019 Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year Award Nominees

Donavan Brazier, Christian Coleman, Grant Holloway, Sam Kendricks, Joe Kovacs, Noah Lyles, Christian Taylor


2019 Jackie Joyner-Kersee Female Athlete of the Year Award Nominees

Nia Ali, Allyson Felix, Shelby Houlihan, Dalilah Muhammad, DeAnna Price


Voting closes Wednesday, November 6 at 4:59 p.m. ET. Click here to access the online ballot. Thank you for helping us celebrate a successful 2019 season!

© 2001-2023 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.