Join/Renew Now

Henry Laskau Award

The Henry Laskau Award is presented to the year's outstanding U.S. junior male and female race walkers.  The award commemorates the achievements of Olympian Henry Laskau as an athlete and a person.  It was first presented in 2000.

Henry Laskau, now a member of the USA Track & Field Hall of Fame, was the first of the modern day race walkers who electrified the crowds at Madison Square Garden.  After losing his family to the concentration camps in World War II, Laskua found his way to America.  Switching from distance running to race walking, Laskua became a 3 time Olympian.   It was during the height of his career in 1951 when he brought the Garden’s crowd to its feet.  Laskau’s record walk of 6:19.2 for the mile that evening became a world record which stood for 12 years.  Henry competed in the 1948, 1952 and 1956 Olympic Games.

2016 Anali Cisneros & Cameron Haught
2015 Anali Cisneros & Anthony Peters
2014 Katharine Newhoff & Anthony Peters
2013 Molly Josephs & Nathaniel Roberts
2012 Maite Moscoso & Tyler Sorensen
2011 Erika Shaver & Tyler Sorensen
2010 Nicolette Sorensen & Trevor Barron
2009 Allison Chin & Trevor Barron
2008 Miranda Melville & Trevor Barron
2007 Lauren Forgues &  Ricardo and Roberto Vergara
2006 Katy Hayes & Mike Kazmierczak
2005 Maria Michta & Zachary Pollinger
2004 Maria Michta & Zachary Pollinger
2002 Robyn Stevens
2001 Robyn Stevens
2000 Robyn Stevens

© 2001-2022 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.